Awards and Recognition

International Convention 2017

At AOII's International Convention during summer 2017, Kappa Tau made its mark in AOII history achieving the highest honor possible, the Jessie Wallace Hughan Cup. The JWH award is awarded to a chapter each biennium that represents outstanding performance in all chapter operations, and upholds all of the values that the fraternity was founded upon. Being named the JWH chapter along with one of our sister chapters in Alabama was one of the most humbling, rewarding experiences for Kappa Tau, as we always strive for improvement in everything we do without seldom priding ourselves on the strength of our chapter and its accomplishments. Upon recieving this award, there was one more important thing to do...celebrate! 

In March 2018, we had the honor of hosting a JWH reception at Fluer de Lis in Ponchatoula, Louisiana. We were honored to share this special night celebrating with so many people who are so special to us: our International President, Gayle Ftipatrick, our Executive Director, Troy Leforge, mutliple leaders on the international executive board and network team for AOII, over 80 alumnae members, and a variety of Southeastern Louisiana University officials that have all equally aided us in persuit of being the best women that we can be. Without any of these people, none of this would have been possible, so we saught out this opportunity to cherish those who have consistently molded us into the individuals that we are today. Below are some highlights of the night that all of us will remember for many years to come!


We were also honored with the following awards for excellence at international convention:

  • Excellence in New Member Education
  • Excellence in Ritual
  • Excellence in Sisterhood
  • Excellence in Finance
  • Excellence in Recruitment
  • Outstanding Leader's Council
  • Excellence in Philanthropy
  • Excellence in Alumnae Relations

Division for Student Affairs Convocation

Spring 2020


The Division for Student Affairs hosts an annual convocation each spring, recognizing campus organizations for their accomplishments over the past year. We were honored to recieve the following awards:

  • Student Organization Award of Excellence
  • Oustanding Community Service Award
  • DSA 2020 Most Outstanding Woman of the Year - Jessica Litolff
    • Our wonderful sister, Jessica Litolff, was recognized as the DSA Most Outstanding Woman of the Year for her incredible contributions to Southeastern and her exemplary personal characteristics. 
  • The Thirteen Club: 
    • Madison Anderson
    • Abi Collins
    • Jasmyne Williams 
  • Sophomore Honors Distinction: 
    • Ryleigh Magee 
    • Saydie Rusk

In 2019, we also had two sisters recognized for their outstanding service and leadership to Southeastern. Senior, Jade Sheets, received the Sorority Woman of the Year Award and Ali Leto received the Most Outstanding Freshman Award!


The following sisters were awarded the Green "S" Award for Leadership and Service to Southeastern:

  • Jessica Litolff 
  • Holland Hardison
  • Katie Gunther
  • Allison Alario
  • Bailey Rose Kelly
  • Ali LeBourgeois
  • Jill Muchausen
  • Karson Pope
  • Gabrielle Reynolds
  • Cailin Sampey
  • Madi Tucker
  • Bailey Watts 
  • Madeline Shexnaydre

We are so proud of all of our sisters for their continuous hard work and dedication!

Leadership Institute 2018

In 2018, a group of Kappa Tau women had the opportunity to travel to our international headquarters in Brentwood, Tennessee. They learned about topics such as resilency, mental health, chapter programming, and so much more. They also got to have some fun exploring the beautiful city of Nashville in their downtime! We are so honored to have recieved awards of excellence in the following categories for the 2017-2018 year:

  • Outstanding Alumnae Advisory Committee
  • Fraternity and Sorority Relations
  • Academic Achievement
  • Community Service
  • Membership Recruitment
  • Philos Award for Outstanding Panhellenic Relations

Our Sisterhood Chair, Ali Lebourgeois, and our Chapter President, Lyndsey DeVaney, also recieved the Collegiate Woman of Leadership Award.

We are so thankful to have been able to spend this weekend in community with sisters all over the world!


Leadership Institute 2020

Due to COVID-19, Leadership Institute looked a little differently this year. Although social distancing did not allow us to be able to travel across the country to share our accomplishments and sisterhood with chapters from all over, we were still able to celebrate our sisterhood via ZOOM call! We are grateful to have been able to see familiar faces on our screens, amidst awards being showcased for all of our hardwork throughout the 2019-2020 school year. This year, Kappa Tau was honored to recieve awards in the following categories: 

  • Collegiate Philos 
  • Outstanding Leaders Council 
  • Outstanding Alumnae Advisory Committee
  • Alumnae Woman of Leadership - Molly Fenton

Awards of Excellence in: 

  • Finance
  • Philanthropy 
  • Communications
  • Wellness and Safety
  • Alumnae Engagement
  • Academic Achievement
  • Membership Experience
  • Membership Recruitment 
  • Campus & Community Involvement